Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No.7


Johannes Brahms completed his 21 Hungarian Dances by 1879, and they still remain one his most popular collections of music. All of the dances are based on traditional Hungarian folk tunes and range from c.1 minute to 6 minutes in duration. Some of the dances have become much more recognisable than others, but as a set they are a force to be reckoned with. During this 21-part ‘Explore Hungarian Dances’ on Classicalexburns, we will be delving into the ins and outs of this famous collection.


The Music

Set in as a stately ‘Allegretto’ at the start, the F major seventh dance is short and to the point. The woodwind-led theme is scalic and uses the upper strings to bounce off of. The slower section of theme engages in call and response with the rest of the piece which is much brighter in character. The use of crash cymbals adds the folk-like feel into the music. As the main theme is presented on more time, the orchestra unites to play the final flourish in glorious unison.


Ⓒ Alex Burns

Happy Reading!

Image Source


You might also enjoy… Explore Hungarian Dances


Recommended Recordings:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *