Johannes Brahms: Hungarian Dance No.9


Johannes Brahms completed his 21 Hungarian Dances by 1879, and they still remain one his most popular collections of music. All of the dances are based on traditional Hungarian folk tunes and range from c.1 minute to 6 minutes in duration. Some of the dances have become much more recognisable than others, but as a set they are a force to be reckoned with. During this 21-part ‘Explore Hungarian Dances’ on Classicalexburns, we will be delving into the ins and outs of this famous collection.


The Music

Number 9, marked Allegro ma non troppo is the first dance thus far to be set into the key of E minor. The jaunty dance is full of energy and excitement as the strings lead on the melody. The off-beat accompaniment adds to the drama of the music as well as showing the influence of folk music. Quiet woodwind interludes challenge the powerful strings as the two sections battle it out to play the main tune. After a slightly slower central section, the strings swiftly move the tempo back into the opening quick pace. A reprise of the opening theme is played before the woodwind lead to the final whimsical flourish. 


Ⓒ Alex Burns

Happy Reading!

Image Source


You might also enjoy… Explore Hungarian Dances


Recommended Recordings:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *